Photo: Tarik Haiga

Advises against all non-necessary travel to south-east Turkey

Read Time:50 Second

The Danish Ministry of Foreign Affairs has updated its travel advice and now advises against all non-necessary travel to those parts of Turkey where the authorities have imposed a state of emergency.

These are the south-eastern provinces of Hatay, Kilis, Diyarbakir, Kahramanmaras, Gaziantep, Malatya, Sanliurfa, Adiyaman, Osmaniye and Adana.

The state of emergency has been imposed after two powerful earthquakes hit the area on February 6. The state of emergency is provisionally in place for the next three months until May 7. Furthermore, the health service and infrastructure are severely burdened after the powerful earthquakes and it will be difficult to get, among other things, medical and hospital care.

On January 30, the Foreign Ministry warned of increased risk of terrorism in Turkey, particularly in Beyoglu, Galata, Taksim and the Istiklal area of Istanbul. Be careful in places where there are a lot of people. For example, hotels, diplomatic missions, restaurants, shopping malls, markets, places of worship and other places with many Western foreigners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *